ERP Market United Kingdom: A Vendor World of Its Own, Making Tax Digital and Brexit Customs – and What Sets It Apart from Germany
For German mid-sized companies, the United Kingdom is the nearest large foreign market with a completely self-contained software landscape. Around 2,500 German companies maintain a subsidiary there according to the trade body German Industry UK, roughly 500 of them with their own manufacturing – and the familiarity is deceptive: below SAP, Oracle and Microsoft, a vendor world begins made up of Sage, The Access Group, IRIS, OneAdvanced, Klipboard and Forterro that barely appears in German market overviews. On top of that comes a reporting system that does not recommend software but mandates it: since April 2022, every British VAT return has had to run out of a software package via an interface of the tax authority HMRC.
This page describes how the British ERP market actually works – researched with British sources (vendors' annual reports, statistics from the ONS and the Department for Business and Trade, legislation on legislation.gov.uk, HMRC and Companies House guidance, labour market data) and placed in a German context. At the end you will find the ten biggest differences from the German ERP market. The German comparison figures come from our ERP statistics and the ERP market shares. Where sources contradict each other or – as with market volume and market shares – no reliable survey exists at all, we say so openly instead of picking one figure.
- Country
- United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK)
- ERP software market volume
- no consensus figure for 2025: 5.27 billion US dollars (Market Research Future), 6.16 billion (Next Move Strategy Consulting) or 2.96 billion (Cargoson); Statista paywalled only
- Rank in Europe
- according to Cargoson (2025), with 2.96 billion US dollars ahead of Germany (2.41 billion) and France (1.34 billion), Europe's largest single market – an estimate without disclosed methodology
- Cloud share
- around two thirds by deployment segments in 2024 (cloud 2.889 billion vs. on-premises 1.4445 billion US dollars, Market Research Future; the segment total deviates from the stated market volume of 4.815 billion); 69 % of businesses used cloud computing in 2023 (ONS); a cloud share specifically for new ERP projects is not documented
- Defining vendors
- British: Sage, The Access Group, IRIS, OneAdvanced, Klipboard, Forterro/Orderwise · international: SAP, Oracle Fusion Cloud and NetSuite, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Unit4, Infor, Epicor · small businesses: Xero, QuickBooks, Sage 50
- Tax system
- Value Added Tax with a 20 % standard rate, a 5 % reduced rate and a 0 % zero rate; registration obligation from 90,000 pounds turnover; corporation tax 25 % above 250,000 pounds profit
- E-invoicing mandate
- none so far; the government response of 26 November 2025 announces a mandate for all VAT invoices from 2029 (B2B and B2G, without real-time reporting); mandatory network not determined
- Financial reporting
- FRS 102, new version effective from 1 January 2026; UK-adopted IFRS only for listed groups; retention 6 years; no prescribed chart of accounts
- Data protection
- UK GDPR and Data Protection Act 2018, amended by the Data (Use and Access) Act 2025 (in force since 5 February 2026); EU adequacy decision renewed on 19 December 2025
- Source
- erp-software.org editorial team (independent, vendor-neutral), British primary sources see the list of sources
What the British ERP market is NOT — scope
- Not a statistically measured market: no freely accessible UK market share survey by vendor, no consensus market size – the estimates differ by more than a factor of two.
- Not an SAP country like the DACH region: the mid-market organises itself around Sage, Access, IRIS and Klipboard; SAP is strong in the large-enterprise segment, but not the synonym for ERP.
- No “Mittelstand” in the German sense: segmentation follows Companies Act thresholds and the HMRC definition, not the unity of ownership and management – even though 93 % of private-sector businesses are family businesses.
- Not a fiscalisation or real-time reporting market: a fiscalisation obligation for cash registers is not known to us (a negative finding, not documented – all that is regulated is the ban on electronic sales suppression software in the Finance Act 2022), and no e-invoicing mandate until at least 2029 – the pressure comes from Making Tax Digital, PAYE real-time reporting, Companies House and Brexit customs.
Market overview: a large market without a reliable figure
How big the British ERP market is cannot be stated seriously. Market Research Future puts it at 5.268 billion US dollars for 2025, Next Move Strategy Consulting at 6.16 billion, Cargoson at 2.96 billion; Statista does not release its UK value in free access. The German market is estimated by Mordor Intelligence at 3.62 billion US dollars for 2026 and sits below or above it depending on the British source – a reliable ranking of the two markets does not exist.
That is how far apart two market researchers are on the British ERP volume in 2025: Market Research Future names 5.268 billion US dollars (after 4.815 billion in 2024) and 9.4 percent CAGR to 12.93 billion in 2035; Next Move Strategy Consulting starts at 6.16 billion and expects 14.98 percent CAGR to 26.43 billion.
Sources: Market Research Future — UK ERP Software Market; Next Move Strategy Consulting — UK ERP Software Market · 2025 (estimates)
Of the European ERP market (12.67 billion US dollars, 22.7 percent of the world market), 2.96 billion falls to the United Kingdom in 2025 according to Cargoson, 2.41 billion to Germany and 1.34 billion to France – on that basis the United Kingdom would be Europe's largest ERP market. The methodology is not disclosed.
Source: Cargoson — How Big is the ERP Market? · 2025 (aggregation, estimate)
At the start of 2025 the Department for Business and Trade counted 5,690,265 private-sector businesses. 4,272,535 have no employees, 1,150,875 are micro businesses with 1 to 9, 220,085 have 10 to 49, only 38,435 count 50 to 249 and 8,335 more than 250 employees.
Source: Department for Business and Trade — Business population estimates 2025 · as of January 2025
Sage achieved underlying total revenue of 2,513 million pounds (up 10 percent) in the financial year to 30 September 2025. Of that, 554 million pounds fell to the United Kingdom and Ireland and 1,138 million to North America – the FTSE 100-listed group earns the majority of its money outside its home market.
Source: The Sage Group plc — Results for the year ended 30 September 2025 · FY2025
Xero reported around 1.32 million British customers for the financial year to 31 March 2026 – up 14 percent – on 727 million New Zealand dollars of UK revenue. The United Kingdom is Xero's fastest-growing market and, after Australia, its second-largest.
Source: Xero — FY26 Annual Results Investor Presentation · May 2026
HMRC classes as a “mid-sized business” any company with more than 10 million pounds turnover and/or over 20 employees and counts around 170,000 of them, which account for 19 percent of all people in employment. 33 percent of them communicate with the tax authority directly via commercial software, compared with 23 percent of small businesses.
Source: HMRC — Supporting mid-sized business · April 2026
Two structural features shape the market. First, its fragmentation: of 5.69 million private-sector businesses, three quarters have no employees, and only 46,770 reach ERP project size. Second, the data gap: for Germany we can at least report estimates per vendor in the ERP market shares, but for the United Kingdom no freely accessible survey with UK revenue shares exists. Globally, Apps Run The World leads the ERP market in 2025 with Oracle at the top (6.7 percent) ahead of SAP (6.6), Intuit (4.5) and Microsoft (2.2), with Sage in eighth place (1.7 percent); the narrower scoping of ERP Research turns that around and sees SAP at 23 and Oracle at 10.5 percent – both series are global, not British.
Vendor landscape: a second tier of its own
Anyone looking at the market from Germany easily overlooks the floor where the music is playing. The following account is based on annual reports and company statements – without assessment, without ranking.
The floors of the market
The ground floor belongs to cloud accounting: Xero with around 1.32 million British customers in March 2026, plus QuickBooks, Sage Accounting and FreeAgent of Edinburgh, which went to the NatWest group for 53 million pounds in 2018; documented British customer numbers for Sage 50 or QuickBooks are not available. This floor is the feeder of the ERP market, because Making Tax Digital has forced millions of small businesses into a software package. On the middle floor stand the British houses – Access, IRIS, OneAdvanced, Klipboard, Forterro with Orderwise – alongside Business Central, NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Sage 200, Epicor, Infor and Unit4; right at the top, SAP, Oracle Fusion Cloud, Workday, Infor and increasingly Unit4 dominate. An official British segmentation by revenue class as in the United States does not exist.
Sage and the British vendors hardly anyone in Germany knows
Sage, founded in Newcastle upon Tyne in 1981, is listed in the FTSE 100 as a software house with an ERP core. In the financial year to 30 September 2025 underlying revenue stood at 2,513 million pounds (up 10 percent) and operating profit at 600 million pounds; 83 percent of revenue comes from subscriptions, and cloud-native revenue grew 23 percent to 885 million pounds. The United Kingdom and Ireland accounted for 554 million pounds, North America for 1,138 million. The portfolio ranges from Sage Accounting and Sage 50 via Sage 200 to Sage Intacct – acquired in 2017 for 850 million pounds – and Sage X3; in January 2022 the Bristol-based commerce specialist Brightpearl was added for 225 million pounds. Sage does not state customer numbers by country, but 6.1 million worldwide.
Alongside stand four houses that are almost unknown in Germany. The Access Group of Loughborough states over 160,000 small and medium-sized organisations as customers and 2,768,375 users on its Access Evo platform for the financial year to 30 June 2025, with 15 percent revenue growth on a four-year average and over 100 acquisitions in ten years. IRIS Software Group of Slough stated over 100,000 customers at around 3.15 billion pounds enterprise value when Leonard Green & Partners came in during December 2023, along with the metric that “one in six” British employees is paid via IRIS systems – its own website today says “1 in 8” at 800,000 organisations, a discrepancy the company does not resolve. OneAdvanced of Birmingham reported group revenue of 346 million pounds for 2024 after 322 million the previous year and refinanced itself in July 2025 with 1.2 billion pounds of private credit; in March 2025 the data protection authority imposed a fine of 3.08 million pounds over a ransomware attack that in 2022 also hit the NHS 111 emergency service. Klipboard, until March 2025 Kerridge Commercial Systems, serves distribution, builders' merchants, rental and field service and today speaks of 52,000 to 55,000 customers after more than 32,000 in 2023 – the jump is explained by 25 acquisitions in twelve years. Added to that is Forterro of London with over 25,000 organisations, including Orderwise of Lincoln since 2022 and, notably for German readers, the Karlsruhe vendor abas since 2019.
Private equity as a structural feature
The most important difference from the German vendor landscape is not a technology but the ownership question. Access is held by Hg, TA Associates and the sovereign wealth fund GIC, which came in at an enterprise value of 9.2 billion pounds in 2022; IRIS belongs to Leonard Green & Partners, Hg and ICG; OneAdvanced half each to Vista Equity Partners and BC Partners; Klipboard to CapVest since 2023; Forterro to Partners Group since March 2022 at around one billion euros; Unit4 to TA Associates since 2021; Epicor to Clayton, Dubilier & Rice since 2020 for 4.7 billion US dollars. The consequence is a permanent acquisition machine – and for users the question of who will own their vendor in five years. In the German market, with its cooperative and owner-managed houses, that question arises less often.
The international vendors – and the industries
For Business Central, the technology database TheirStack recorded around 1,229 British user companies in 2026, making it the second-largest country market after the United States (2,875), ahead of Spain (1,135) and Germany (1,063) – a sample, not a full count; the partner number varies between 410 and 90 depending on the yardstick. Oracle completed the most visible British rollout in 2025: NHS Shared Business Services went live on Oracle Fusion Cloud with 48 NHS organisations on 1 October 2025; according to the joint venture the platform processes up to 355 billion pounds of NHS transactions and 7.1 million invoices a year. SAP is present via the UK & Ireland SAP User Group founded in 1988, with over 4,000 professionals; reliable UK revenue or customer figures from SAP and NetSuite are not publicly available. Among the industries, the public sector stands out as an ERP ecosystem of its own: Unit4 won the Local Government Association, East Riding of Yorkshire Council, Devon County Council and the University of Liverpool with ERPx. In manufacturing, the state programme Made Smarter sets the frame – its north-west England pilot has involved around 2,500 manufacturers since 2019 and funded 334 technology projects with 6.4 million pounds, 55 percent of which concerned data capture and software systems.
The mid-market in British terms: SME, mid-sized business, family business
The German term “Mittelstand” cannot be translated into British English, and that is more than a linguistic footnote. The Institut für Mittelstandsforschung Bonn defines the Mittelstand through the unity of ownership and management; in quantitative terms, 3.443 million companies or 99.2 percent count as SMEs in Germany. The United Kingdom instead has three definitions side by side. Officially, the Department for Business and Trade counted 5,681,930 businesses with 0 to 249 employees at the start of 2025, that is 99.85 percent of all private-sector businesses; they provide 16.9 million employees (60 percent) and 51 percent of turnover. In company law, the Companies Act distinguishes micro-entities (up to 1 million pounds turnover), small (up to 15 million), medium (up to 54 million) and large above that for financial years starting on or after 6 April 2025 – the medium threshold was raised from a previous 36 million pounds, so anyone working with older documents miscalculates. For tax purposes, HMRC classes “mid-sized businesses” as companies with more than 10 million pounds turnover and/or over 20 employees and counts around 170,000 of them.
What is missing is not the thing itself but the term: family businesses are the backbone there too. Family Business UK, citing the IFB Research Foundation (January 2026), puts them at 5.1 million or 93 percent of all private-sector businesses with 15.8 million employees and 985 billion pounds of gross value added – except that no separate category and no separate ERP target-group messaging is derived from that. What does exist is a category that Germany does not have: the ScaleUp Institute counted 44,595 scale-ups in 2025, which introduce ERP under a different kind of time pressure than an established mechanical engineering firm.
Two things follow for ERP projects. First, the digitalisation base is thinner than the cloud figures suggest: the DSIT report on technology adoption of June 2025 records that more than half of companies name financial constraints as a barrier, around 40 percent a lack of management capability, that only 8 percent of manufacturers have introduced AI or machine learning and that 74 percent of manufacturing SMEs work without robots; according to the same report British productivity is 14 percent below the French and 22 percent below the German level. State funding has changed little about this: Help to Grow: Digital was discontinued in February 2023 after 13 months – of a 296 million pound budget, 823,505 pounds was drawn down – and Made Smarter Adoption reached only around 4 percent of manufacturing SMEs by March 2025, without statistically significant effects on revenue, employment and productivity. Second, the software decision is likely to run through the external accountant in many cases: what is documented is that, according to the HMRC customer survey 2025, 86 percent of mid-sized and 73 percent of small businesses work with tax advisers or agents; that the software decision therefore often runs through the practice is our own inference – which is why anyone building up a British subsidiary is better off involving the firm that keeps the books early on.
Regulation and compliance: what an ERP has to do differently in the United Kingdom
VAT and Making Tax Digital: software is mandatory, not optional
The United Kingdom's Value Added Tax has a standard rate of 20 percent, a reduced rate of 5 percent and a genuine zero rate for most foodstuffs and children's clothing, which unlike an exemption preserves input tax recovery; the registration obligation applies from 90,000 pounds of taxable turnover, raised from 85,000 pounds in the Spring Budget 2024. The actual ERP factor is Making Tax Digital: since 1 April 2019 for larger companies and since 1 April 2022 for all VAT-registered businesses, records must be kept digitally and returns submitted via the HMRC application programming interface. VAT Notice 700/22 requires “functional compatible software” to hold the records, generate the return from them and communicate digitally with HMRC. The decisive point is the “digital link”: linked spreadsheet cells, XML and CSV import and API transfers are permissible – copying and pasting values is explicitly not. The second wave is starting: Making Tax Digital for Income Tax applies from 6 April 2026 to self-employed people and landlords with more than 50,000 pounds of qualifying income, from 2027 above 30,000 and from 2028 above 20,000 pounds.
E-invoicing: decided for 2029, details open
Unlike Germany, where the obligation to receive e-invoices has applied since 1 January 2025 and the obligation to send them takes effect in 2027 and 2028 respectively, the United Kingdom so far has no e-invoicing mandate in B2B. Following a consultation by HMRC and the Department for Business and Trade with 342 responses, the government response of 26 November 2025 announced a mandate for all VAT invoices from 2029; according to the assessment of the accountancy body ICAS it begins in April 2029 for B2B and B2G, initially without real-time reporting to HMRC and without a prescribed standard. Whether Peppol becomes the mandatory network is presented contradictorily by advisory firms – one source reports a confirmation in June 2026, another recorded the opposite in April 2026; a determination cannot be found on gov.uk, and we list it as not documented. In healthcare, Peppol has long played a role: the NHS e-procurement strategy has required GS1 coding and Peppol standards since 2014, and English NHS trusts have been able to receive since 2018. A module for XRechnung and ZUGFeRD, the two German structured invoice formats, therefore does not help in the United Kingdom until 2029, whereas Peppol capability does, if the NHS is among your customers.
Financial reporting, Companies House and a chart of accounts that does not exist
British companies report under FRS 102 unless they are listed – according to the Financial Reporting Council, an estimated 3.4 million companies use the UK and Ireland standards. The revision published on 27 March 2024 is effective for financial years beginning on or after 1 January 2026 and brings two system-relevant changes: Section 23 moves revenue recognition to a five-step model modelled on IFRS 15, and Section 20 requires the lessee to recognise a right-of-use asset together with a liability. UK-adopted IFRS is mandatory only for listed groups under Companies Act 2006 Section 403; our glossary on IFRS and HGB offers a comparison. What German users notice is missing: there is no prescribed chart of accounts – the Companies Act regulates only balance sheet and P&L formats, there is no equivalent to SKR 03 or SKR 04, and just as little a counterpart to the GoBD; the retention period is six instead of eight to ten years.
With the Companies House register, the annual accounts must be filed nine months after the financial year end; late filing costs 150 to 1,500 pounds. Since 18 November 2025 directors and people with significant control must verify their identity, and from 1 April 2028 all accounts must be filed exclusively via commercial software in iXBRL format – the web and paper routes fall away, as do shortened “abridged accounts”. Older sources name 1 April 2027 for this; the postponement was confirmed in June 2026. The British subsidiary therefore needs an iXBRL-capable closing chain by 2028 at the latest.
Payroll: real-time reporting on every payday
Via PAYE Real Time Information, the employer has to submit a Full Payment Submission “on or before the payday” – for every employee, even where payment is quarterly; late submissions cost between 100 pounds a month for 1 to 9 employees and 400 pounds from 250 employees. HMRC words the software obligation unambiguously: you need payroll software in order to report. Employers pay 15 percent National Insurance above 417 pounds a month in 2025/26 and unchanged in 2026/27, which works out at 5,000 pounds a year; previously it was 13.8 percent above 9,100 pounds, and in return the Employment Allowance rose to 10,500 pounds. On top of that come the National Living Wage of 12.71 pounds from 1 April 2026 and auto-enrolment with an 8 percent minimum contribution in the band from 6,240 to 50,270 pounds. The tax year ends on 5 April, P60s are due by 31 May and P11Ds by 6 July – and from 6 April 2027 payrolling benefits in kind becomes mandatory for company cars, fuel, vans and medical services.
Data protection: its own regime, still adequate
The Data (Use and Access) Act 2025 received royal assent on 19 June 2025; its core data protection provisions came into force on 5 February 2026. They introduce a new legal basis of “recognised legitimate interests”, a limitation of subject access requests to a “reasonable and proportionate” scope and a risk-based test for third-country transfers; the PECR fine ceiling rose from 500,000 to 17.5 million pounds or 4 percent of global turnover. Data flows from the EU remain free because the European Commission renewed the 2021 adequacy decisions on 19 December 2025; a British data localisation requirement for ERP or cloud data is not documented, which we flag as a negative finding. That the supervisory authority has teeth is shown by the fine of 14 million pounds the ICO imposed on Capita on 15 October 2025.
Customs and trade: Brexit sits inside the ERP
Every movement of goods between the United Kingdom and the EU is an import or an export, each one needs an EORI number, and since 30 March 2024 all declarations run through the Customs Declaration Service, which replaced the legacy CHIEF system; for Northern Ireland an XI EORI is added. The tariff preference from the Trade and Cooperation Agreement is not automatic: it requires a statement on origin from the exporter or “importer's knowledge”, EU exporters need a REX number from a consignment value of 6,000 euros, and the importer must keep the evidence for four years – if it is missing, the full standard duty rate falls due. Origin calculation and supplier declarations are therefore master data topics. Relief is offered by Postponed VAT Accounting for import VAT and the UK Internal Market Scheme for “not at risk” goods going to Northern Ireland. Newly added is the British CBAM: from 1 January 2027 aluminium, cement, fertilisers, hydrogen as well as iron and steel are covered, with registration at HMRC from 50,000 pounds of goods value.
Public procurement, payment behaviour and special levies
Since 24 February 2025 the Procurement Act 2023 has obliged contracting authorities to pay invoices within 30 days (Section 68) and passes the deadline down to every public subcontract (Section 73). That leads to the perennial British topic of payment behaviour, which unlike in Germany is a reporting obligation: large companies and LLPs – since April 2025 two of three criteria out of 54 million pounds turnover, 27 million pounds balance sheet total and 250 employees – have to publish their payment behaviour every six months, since January 2025 additionally the value of invoices paid late and the share of disputed invoices; non-publication is a criminal offence for the company and every director. The government puts the cost of late payments at eleven billion pounds a year; a bill with a 60-day cap and interest on arrears of eight points above the base rate went to the House of Lords on 19 May 2026. On top come obligations with no German counterpart: the Modern Slavery Act from 36 million pounds of annual turnover, the Plastic Packaging Tax at 228.82 pounds per tonne from April 2026 for packaging with less than 30 percent recycled content, and in construction the Construction Industry Scheme. A fiscalisation obligation for cash registers, by contrast, we did not find – a negative finding that, as with data localisation, we flag as not documented; all that is regulated is the ban on electronic sales suppression software in the Finance Act 2022.
Implementation, partners and pricing
Partner model and decision paths
Sage works with “thousands of partners” in four roles – technology, reseller, service delivery and alliance partners such as PwC, AWS and Microsoft – and sells Sage 200 Professional exclusively via a call-back request. Microsoft distributes Business Central through partners whose British number varies between 410 and 90 depending on the yardstick; Unit4 awarded its public-sector business exclusively to Embridge Consulting for five years in March 2026. The Access Group, by contrast, sells Access Financials directly, with a publicly stated guide price – the exception in the British mid-market. Independent selection consulting is less institutionalised than in the United States: Lumenia, with a London office, sells no software but publishes no project metrics either.
Projects: no British benchmarks, only approximations
Reliable British project metrics are missing; we did not find a freely accessible UK survey on project durations, budget overruns or fit-to-standard rates and list that as a gap. The closest source, the ERP Report by Software Path, evaluates 1,384 real selection projects and names an average budget of 9,000 US dollars per user, a selection phase of 17 weeks and over 55 percent pure cloud projects versus 3 percent pure on-premises undertakings – but the survey dates from January 2022, calculates in US dollars and is internationally mixed. For Germany more reliable values are available: Trovarit names around 4,400 euros per ERP seat and about twelve months of project duration in the mid-market (see our ERP statistics). Anyone planning for a British subsidiary is therefore better off calculating with German experience values and adding staff costs and compliance effort separately.
Price levels: transparent on the ground floor, opaque above it
Price transparency decreases as system size grows. Clearly stated are the cloud products: Dynamics 365 Business Central costs 61.50 pounds per user and month in the United Kingdom as Essentials, 84.60 pounds as Premium and 6.20 pounds for Team Members, billed annually and excluding VAT. Xero tiers from 18 pounds via 39 and 55 up to 70 pounds a month plus VAT, with multi-currency capability only included from the 55-pound tier – a decisive detail for a German subsidiary with euro settlement. QuickBooks Online ranges from 10 to 123 pounds for 25 users, with the pricing page contradicting itself: the comparison table shows net prices, the plan tiles gross prices. Sage 50 Accounts starts at 115 pounds a month plus VAT, Professional at 234 pounds. Above that it becomes opaque: Sage Intacct, Sage 200 and NetSuite publish no list prices, and documented pound ranges for NetSuite are – unlike for the US market – not available. The only publicly advertised mid-market figure comes from Access: Access Financials from 10,508 pounds a year for a company with 40 employees. We deliberately do not convert into euros, because no reference exchange rate for a cut-off date is documented in the sources; orientation on the total cost view is offered by our glossary entry on total cost of ownership.
Skilled staff: day rates, salaries and two Brexit side effects
The British ERP labour market is well measured, because ITJobsWatch evaluates job advertisements systematically. In the six months to 2 September 2026 the median day rate for ERP freelancers stood at 550 pounds (lower decile 370, upper 738) across 1,953 postings; SAP consultants likewise reached 550 pounds, Dynamics 365 specialists 500 pounds. For permanent roles the median for the skill “ERP” is 60,000 pounds across 2,865 positions, and 82,500 pounds in London; SAP consultants achieve 80,000, Dynamics 365 consultants 70,000, NetSuite professionals 65,000 and Sage specialists 40,000 pounds. The medians therefore sit well below the top values: the upper decile ends between 675 and 750 pounds depending on the profile, and higher rates of up to around 1,200 pounds are reached only by individual postings. According to the Employer Skills Survey 2024, 27 percent of all vacancies were skill-shortage vacancies, after 36 percent in 2022.
Two sets of rules noticeably change the sourcing of project staff. First IR35: since 6 April 2021, medium-sized and large clients have had to determine the employment status of freelancers and, in cases of “deemed employment”, pay over taxes and contributions; because the small company exemption was raised to 15 million pounds turnover and 50 employees for financial years beginning on or after 6 April 2025, more clients will fall under it in future – the earliest tax year affected is 2027/28 according to the HMRC manual. Second, the immigration rules: EU nationals who entered after 31 December 2020 need sponsorship. Since 22 July 2025 the Skilled Worker Visa has required a minimum salary of 41,700 pounds or the going rate for the occupation, plus visa fees of 819 and 1,618 pounds respectively, 1,035 pounds of healthcare surcharge a year and, for employers, an Immigration Skills Charge of 1,320 pounds annually. Consultants can therefore no longer simply be flown in for a British rollout; data on the offshoring of British ERP projects is not available.
Trends 2025/2026: tax digitalisation, AI in accounting, regulatory cadence
Making Tax Digital remains the strongest software driver. After VAT, from 6 April 2026 the obligation also covers the income tax of self-employed people and landlords with more than 50,000 pounds of qualifying income; over 850,000 taxpayers have to register by then. Xero reports “MTD tailwinds” in its annual presentation; ERP Research likewise attributes the growth of Business Central in the British mid-market to Making Tax Digital and to migration away from legacy systems such as Dynamics NAV. Unlike Germany, where the e-invoicing mandate is the most important trigger for modernisation, the pressure therefore comes from the reporting side.
Artificial intelligence arrives via accounting, not via the ERP. Sage introduced Sage Copilot in February 2024 and offers it today in Sage Accounting, Sage 50, Sage Intacct and Sage X3 – partly included in selected tariffs, partly as an add-on module without a stated price. Xero makes its assistant “Just Ask Xero” available in all four British plans at no extra charge, and Microsoft includes the Copilot in Business Central in the licence at no additional cost. This bundling distinguishes the British market from the American one, where AI agents are increasingly billed on a consumption basis – details on that on our country page on the United States and in the overview of artificial intelligence in ERP. The base is growing fast: according to the ONS survey of July 2026, the share of companies with ten or more employees using AI rose from around 12 percent at the end of 2023 to about 35 percent, and to 49 percent among large businesses; only 10 percent speak of comprehensive use, and in 2024, according to the British Chambers of Commerce, 43 percent of SMEs had no AI plans.
The regulatory cadence to 2029 is tight – and it forces system work. FRS 102 in its new version for financial years beginning on or after 1 January 2026 is followed by the core data protection provisions on 5 February 2026, Making Tax Digital for income tax in April 2026, the British CBAM on 1 January 2027, mandatory payrolling of the first benefits in kind in April 2027, iXBRL filing at Companies House on 1 April 2028 and finally the e-invoicing mandate in 2029. In total, that adds up to an investment need for a British subsidiary with a legacy system that is better planned in one go.
Cost pressure and consolidation shape the environment. The employer contribution to National Insurance rose from 13.8 to 15 percent in 2025/26, while the threshold fell from 9,100 to 5,000 pounds a year – a burden that hits labour-intensive businesses and makes automation projects more attractive; according to the ONS business survey of August 2026, 27 percent of companies reported increased purchase prices in July. On the vendor side, consolidation continues and legacy systems are quietly collected: the Solihull-based vendor Pegasus, with Opera 3 widely used in the British mid-market, today trades simply as “an Infor business”. On buying culture, less can be said reliably than in the US market – on the role of review platforms or on tendering practice we found no robust surveys. All that is documented is that 86 percent of mid-sized and 73 percent of small businesses work with tax advisers or agents (HMRC customer survey 2025); that the software decision therefore often runs through the practice is our own inference.
The 10 biggest differences between the British and the German ERP market
- The data situation is worse, not better. For Germany, market size (3.62 billion US dollars in 2026, Mordor Intelligence) and vendor shares can at least be estimated; for the United Kingdom three estimates for 2025 diverge between 2.96 billion US dollars (Cargoson) and 6.16 billion (Next Move), and a freely accessible UK market share statistic does not exist at all.
- A second tier of its own instead of SAP dominance. In Germany the mid-market structures itself around SAP with a share of around 38 percent, Microsoft Dynamics, Sage, DATEV and proALPHA; in the United Kingdom around Sage (2,513 million pounds revenue in FY2025, of which 554 million in the UK and Ireland), The Access Group (over 160,000 customers), IRIS, OneAdvanced, Klipboard and Forterro – of which only Sage (around 6 percent DACH share, estimate) and Forterro (via abas) are present in Germany; Access, IRIS, OneAdvanced and Klipboard have no significant sales presence there.
- The market belongs to financial investors. Access is held by Hg, TA Associates and GIC (9.2 billion pounds enterprise value in 2022), IRIS by Leonard Green & Partners, Hg and ICG (around 3.15 billion pounds), OneAdvanced by Vista Equity Partners and BC Partners, Klipboard by CapVest, Forterro by Partners Group. The German vendor landscape does not know this density – roadmaps there depend more often on changes of ownership.
- The software mandate arrived via the tax return, not via the invoice. Since 1 April 2022 all VAT-registered British companies have had to keep their records digitally and submit the VAT return via the HMRC interface, with copying and pasting explicitly not a permissible digital link; income tax follows from April 2026. In Germany the advance VAT return is likewise electronic (ELSTER), but there is no rule there that the return must be generated directly from an accounting software package with unbroken digital links.
- E-invoicing arrives four years later. Germany has had the obligation to receive since 1 January 2025 and the obligation to send from 2027 and 2028 respectively; the United Kingdom announced on 26 November 2025 a mandate for all VAT invoices from 2029, without real-time reporting and without a binding standard. Expertise in XRechnung and ZUGFeRD is of no use there for now, whereas Peppol capability is.
- Financial reporting and register obligations work differently. Instead of HGB and GoBD, FRS 102 applies in the version effective from 1 January 2026; there is no prescribed chart of accounts such as SKR 03 or SKR 04, and the retention period is six instead of eight to ten years. In return, obligations are added that Germany does not know: identity verification for all directors since 18 November 2025 and, from 1 April 2028, accounts filing only via software in iXBRL format.
- Payroll reports in real time. German companies report monthly to social insurance and the tax office; British employers have to submit a Full Payment Submission via PAYE Real Time Information on or before every payday, with monthly penalties of 100 to 400 pounds. On top come 15 percent of employer contributions above a threshold of only 5,000 pounds a year.
- “Mittelstand” exists as a thing, not as a category. The German term follows the unity of ownership and management and covers 3.443 million SMEs or 99.2 percent of all companies; the United Kingdom counts 5,681,930 SMEs (99.85 percent) but segments via Companies Act thresholds and the HMRC category “mid-sized business” with around 170,000 companies. Family businesses make up 93 percent of the private sector, but are not treated as a target group of their own.
- Customs and payment behaviour are everyday ERP topics. In the EU single market customs declarations are the exception; in the United Kingdom every movement of goods with the EU needs an EORI number and a declaration via the Customs Declaration Service, preferential tariffs require statements on origin with four-year retention, and from 2027 the CBAM is added. In parallel, large British companies have to publish their payment behaviour every six months – non-publication is a criminal offence.
- Project economics: fewer benchmarks, less price transparency, more expensive access. For Germany, Trovarit supplies around 4,400 euros per ERP seat and about twelve months of project duration; for the United Kingdom no comparable survey exists, and Sage Intacct, Sage 200 and NetSuite publish no list prices there. The staffing side is well measured – median day rate 550 pounds, median salary 60,000 pounds – and more expensive since Brexit, because EU consultants need sponsorship.
Sources and methodology
This page was researched in September 2026 with British sources – annual reports and press releases from the vendors, official statistics from the ONS and the Department for Business and Trade, legislation on legislation.gov.uk, HMRC and Companies House guidance, labour market data as well as manufacturers' pricing pages – and placed in a German context. All sources are in English. Market sizes differ by more than a factor of two depending on scoping; we therefore name publisher and reference year and state ranges instead of picking one value. Several obvious figures cannot be documented and are deliberately absent: British ERP market shares by vendor, the Statista market size for the United Kingdom (paywalled), UK customer numbers from SAP, NetSuite, Sage 50 and QuickBooks, British benchmarks on project duration and project budget, pound price ranges for NetSuite as well as data on the offshoring of British ERP projects. Whether Peppol will be set as the mandatory network for e-invoicing from 2029 is not documented on gov.uk and is therefore presented as open. Price information comes from the manufacturers' pages as of 3 September 2026 and is, where stated, excluding VAT; a conversion into euros is omitted for lack of a documented reference exchange rate.
- Market size and structure: Market Research Future — UK ERP Software Market; Next Move Strategy Consulting — UK ERP Software Market; Cargoson — How Big is the ERP Market?; ERP Research — ERP Market Share 2026; Apps Run The World — Top 10 ERP Software Vendors, Market Size and Forecast; Statista — Enterprise Resource Planning Software, United Kingdom (paywalled)
- Vendors: The Sage Group plc — Results FY2025; Sage — completion of the Brightpearl acquisition; The Access Group — Annual report FY2025; Hg — Investment in The Access Group; IRIS Software Group — investment from Leonard Green & Partners; IRIS — completion of the Dext acquisition; OneAdvanced — refinancing of 1.2 billion pounds; Klipboard — rebranding of Kerridge Commercial Systems; CapVest — acquisition of Kerridge Commercial Systems; Forterro — company information; Orderwise/Forterro — acquisition of Wise Software; Khaos Control Solutions; Apps Run The World — Intact iQ customer base; Xero — FY26 Annual Results Investor Presentation
- International vendors in the UK: TheirStack — companies using Business Central in the United Kingdom; ERP Research — Dynamics 365 partners in the UK; TopDynamicsPartners — Dynamics 365 partners in the UK; NHS Shared Business Services — go-live with Oracle Fusion Cloud; UK & Ireland SAP User Group — About us; Embridge Consulting — exclusive Unit4 reseller for the UK public sector
- Mid-market, digitalisation, funding programmes: DBT — Business population estimates 2025; ONS — UK business: activity, size and location 2025; HMRC — Supporting mid-sized business; Family Business UK — sector metrics; ScaleUp Institute — Annual Review 2025; ONS — Management practices and technology adoption 2023; ONS — Artificial intelligence in UK businesses 2023 to 2026; DSIT — Technology Adoption Review; DBT — SME Digital Adoption Taskforce Final Report; DBT — Help to Grow: Digital, evaluation report; DBT/Ipsos — Made Smarter Adoption, impact evaluation; Made Smarter — The Impact of Made Smarter
- Taxes and Making Tax Digital: HMRC — VAT rates; GOV.UK — VAT registration thresholds; GOV.UK — VAT Returns: Deadlines; HMRC — VAT Notice 700/22 (Making Tax Digital for VAT); HMRC — Extension of Making Tax Digital for VAT; HMRC — Making Tax Digital for Income Tax; HMRC — Penalty points for late VAT Returns; GOV.UK — Corporation Tax rates
- E-invoicing: HMRC/DBT — Electronic invoicing: consultation outcome; ICAS — E-invoicing will go ahead from 2029; Avalara — UK mandatory e-invoicing 2029; DHSC — NHS e-procurement strategy (GS1 and Peppol); Peppol Validator — Peppol in the United Kingdom
- Financial reporting and Companies House: FRC — FRS 102; FRC — Periodic Review of the UK and Ireland standards; legislation.gov.uk — Companies Act 2006, s. 403; legislation.gov.uk — Companies (Accounts and Reports) (Amendment) Regulations 2024; legislation.gov.uk — balance sheet and P&L formats (SI 2008/410, Schedule 1); Companies House — Verifying your identity; Companies House — Changes to accounts (software-only filing); GOV.UK — Company and accounting records; GOV.UK — Penalties for late filing
- Pay and payroll: GOV.UK — Running payroll: Reporting to HMRC; GOV.UK — penalties for late payroll reporting; GOV.UK — Payroll software; HMRC — Rates and thresholds for employers 2026 to 2027; GOV.UK — National Minimum and Living Wage rates; GOV.UK — Workplace pensions; HMRC — Employer Bulletin June 2026 (payrolling of benefits); GOV.UK — Payroll: annual reporting and tasks
- Data protection: legislation.gov.uk — Data (Use and Access) Act 2025; legislation.gov.uk — Commencement No. 6 Regulations 2026; legislation.gov.uk — Data Protection Act 2018, s. 157; European Commission — adequacy decisions; Hill Dickinson — changes under the Data (Use and Access) Act
- Customs and trade: HMRC — Customs Declaration Service; GOV.UK — Get an EORI number; HMRC — preferential rates of duty between the UK and EU; HMRC — Postponed VAT Accounting; HMRC — UK Internal Market Scheme; HMRC — Entry summary declarations; Cabinet Office — Border Target Operating Model; HMRC/HM Treasury — UK Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism
- Public procurement, payment behaviour, special levies: legislation.gov.uk — Procurement Act 2023, s. 68; legislation.gov.uk — Procurement Act 2023, s. 73; DBT — Business payment practices and performance; legislation.gov.uk — Payment Practices Reporting Regulations 2017; Office of the Small Business Commissioner — Fair Payment Code; GOV.UK — Small Business Protections Bill; Home Office — Modern Slavery Statement; HMRC — Plastic Packaging Tax; Defra — Extended Producer Responsibility for packaging; HMRC — Construction Industry Scheme; legislation.gov.uk — Finance Act 2022, Schedule 14 (Electronic Sales Suppression)
- Pricing, implementation, labour market: Microsoft UK — Business Central pricing; Xero UK — pricing plans; Intuit — QuickBooks Online UK pricing; Sage UK — Sage 50 Accounts; The Access Group — Access Financials; NoBlue2 — NetSuite Pricing (UK partner figures); Software Path — ERP Report; Lumenia Consulting; ITJobsWatch — ERP day rates; ITJobsWatch — ERP salaries; DfE — Employer Skills Survey 2024; Skills England — Sector Skills Needs Assessment Digital; HMRC — IR35: raising of the small company thresholds; GOV.UK — Skilled Worker Visa; GOV.UK — Immigration Skills Charge; HMRC — Agents, Small and Mid-Sized Businesses Customer Survey 2025
- German companies in the British market: German Industry UK — metrics on the German presence; AHK Großbritannien — German-British Chamber of Industry and Commerce
- German comparison values: ERP statistics (Mordor Intelligence, Eurostat, Bitkom, Trovarit, techconsult/Forterro) and ERP market shares on erp-software.org
Häufig gestellte Fragen
Which ERP systems are most widely used in the United Kingdom?
A reliable market share statistic by revenue or unit numbers is not publicly available for the United Kingdom – neither Gartner nor IDC publish freely accessible UK country shares, and Statista keeps its UK figures behind a paywall. What is documented, by contrast, are the orders of magnitude of the vendors: Sage of Newcastle generated 554 million pounds of revenue in the United Kingdom and Ireland in financial year 2025, Xero counted around 1.32 million British customers in March 2026, and The Access Group of Loughborough states over 160,000 small and medium-sized organisations as its customer base. Among the international systems, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central is particularly visible: the technology database TheirStack recorded around 1,229 British user companies in 2026, making it the second-largest country market after the United States. In the large-enterprise and public-sector segment, SAP, Oracle Fusion Cloud, Unit4 and Infor shape the picture.
Does a British subsidiary need a different ERP than the German head office?
Not necessarily, but the system has to handle several British specifics cleanly that do not exist in the German standard. These include Making Tax Digital – since April 2022 the VAT return has had to run out of a software package via the HMRC interface for all registered businesses, and HMRC explicitly does not recognise copy and paste as a permissible digital link –, payroll under the Real Time Information procedure with a submission on or before every payday, plus a freely definable chart of accounts, because the Companies Act 2006 only prescribes balance sheet and P&L formats and knows no equivalent to the German SKR. Large groups solve this via the UK country version of their group system; smaller subsidiaries can run a local system – Business Central, Sage Intacct or Access Financials, for example – with consolidation into the German head office; reliable figures on how German subsidiaries in the United Kingdom actually decide are not available. What matters is less the brand than the question of who owns the HMRC connection, the payroll and the Companies House filing.
Is there an e-invoicing mandate in the United Kingdom like in Germany?
Not yet, but it has been decided. Following a consultation by HMRC and the Department for Business and Trade between 13 February and 7 May 2025 with 342 responses, the government announced on 26 November 2025 a mandatory e-invoice for all VAT invoices from 2029; a roadmap is due at Budget 2026. According to the assessment of the Scottish accountancy body ICAS, the mandate starts in April 2029 for B2B and B2G, initially without real-time reporting to HMRC and without a prescribed standard. Whether Peppol will be set as the central network is – contrary to several advisory publications – not documented on gov.uk and remains open. In Germany, by contrast, the obligation to receive has applied since 1 January 2025 and the obligation to send follows in 2027 and 2028 respectively – the British market is around four years behind the German one here.
What does an ERP project cost in the British mid-market?
A British benchmark survey on project costs and project durations in the mid-market is not publicly available; the reliable figures concern licences and day rates. Microsoft quotes 61.50 pounds per user and month for Dynamics 365 Business Central Essentials in the United Kingdom and 84.60 pounds for Premium, each billed annually and excluding VAT; Access Financials is advertised with a guide price from 10,508 pounds a year for a company with 40 employees, while Sage Intacct, Sage 200 and NetSuite publish no list prices at all in the United Kingdom. On staff costs, the median day rate for British ERP freelancers stood at 550 pounds in the six months to 2 September 2026 according to ITJobsWatch, and at 500 pounds for Dynamics 365 specialists, with an upper decile between 675 and 750 pounds. As orientation for the total investment, only the older survey by Software Path from 1,384 selection projects with an average budget of 9,000 US dollars per user remains – although it is internationally mixed.
